Speak Into My Good Eye

Exclusive: The Everymen Announce Jonathan Richman Tribute EP; Stream “Just About Seventeen”

Mike Mehalick March 8, 2013 Features No Comments

The Everymen

With a full LP in New Jersey Hardcore still in its relative release infancy, NJ’s The Everymen could easily take the rest of 2013 to simply focus on touring and promotion. But that just doesn’t seem to jive with what they’re all about. In keeping in line with their tireless rock and roll work ethic, and paying homage to the music that inspires them, The Everymen are readying the release of a short EP of cover tunes in advance of their upcoming spring-into-summer tour.

Normally you can find The Everymen in their van listening to everything from Black Breath to Steely Dan to the Flaming Lips to The Pretenders. So where did Who Wrote These Songs? A Very Short Tribute To Jonathan Richman come from?

“His songs are just perfect,” says frontman Mike V. “Everything about them. He rarely, if ever, misses the mark. And I’ve always thought that a strong catalog of covers is important for any rock and roll band to have. So naturally, I wanted to cover some Richman tunes. Because they’re perfect.”

So when it came down to arranging these beloved Richman tracks, the band took very few liberties.

“You’re not going to make his songs any better. Why would we try and change them? I’d rather just give them the Everymen treatment of fuzz, a good old fashioned booze soak and Scotty Z’s honkin horn.”

Who Wrote These Songs? A Very Short Tribute To Jonathan Richman will be available April 30 via Brooklyn’s Oedipus Records on 7″ vinyl and digitally. Stream an exclusive first listen of the wonderfully executed “Just About Seventeen” below, and look for an interview with The Everymen front man Mike V next week in advance of their SXSW run.

Preorder now to get an instant download of “Down In Bermuda.”

Tracklist

1. Down In Bermuda
2. Just About Seventeen
3. When She Kisses Me
4. New Jersey

The Everymen 2013 Tour

> Friday March 8 at Desperados in DC
> Saturday March 9 at The Milestone in Charlotte
> Sunday March 10 Smiths in Atlanta
> Monday March 11 at The Basement in Nashville
> Tuesday March 12 at Main Squeeze in Little Rock
> Wednesday March 13 – Sunday March 17 SXSW
> Friday March 22 at Don Pedro
> Sunday March 24 at Maxwells
> Monday March 25 in Amityville
> Friday March 29 at The Sex Dungeon in Lindenwold
> Saturday March 30 at The Royal Oak in Youngstown
> Thursday April 4 at Roxy And Duke’s in Middlesex
> Friday April 5 at Sidebar in Baltimore
> Saturday April 6 at The Pinhook in Durham
> Saturday April 13 at Don Pedro in Brooklyn
> Saturday April 20 at Clash Bar in Clifton
> Friday April 26 at Connie’s Ric Rac in Philly
> Friday May 4 at Cake Shop Who Wrote These Songs? release party
> Thursday May 16 at Shea Stadium in Brooklyn
> Sunday May 19 at Lit Lounge in NYC
> Friday May 31 at Fontana’s in NYC
> Saturday June 22 at Asbury Lanes
> Sunday August 25 at Lakewood Blueclaws

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mike is a graduate of the School Of Visual Arts with a BFA in Film & Video focused on screenwriting. His career stops have included editing positions at AOL, The Huffington Post, and BuzzFeed. He regularly contributes to a variety of outlets. Follow him @mmehalick

Leave A Response