Speak Into My Good Eye

Watch: Allison Weiss Preaches Empowerment With “Who We Are” Video

Chris Rotolo September 29, 2015 News No Comments

Allison Weiss

Allison Weiss hasn’t survived life in the indie-punk scene for more than a decade with a catalogue of alluring pop productions alone. There is undeniable depth to this songstress’ offerings and her latest single “Who We Are” is no exception.

As we continue to operate in a society dominated by gender roles, Weiss is here to remind us that these sorts of social constructs are bullshit, and her new video for “Who We Are” is a reminder of that, as we witness a female lead and football enthusiast encouraged by a her high school coach to suit and mix it up with the boys on the gridiron.

Stream the video below, pre-order Weiss’ forthcoming LP New Love (due out Oct. 2 via Side One Dummy) here, and be sure to catch her live on an upcoming headlining tour with Don Giovanni Records’ Mal Blum, Winter, and Kid In The Attic, including a Nov. 8th stint at the Mercury Lounge in New York City.

Allison Weiss Dates:
Sun Oct 18 – San Francisco, CA – Brick & Mortar Music Hall
Tues Oct 20 – Portland, OR – Analog Theater (Upstairs)
Wed Oct 21 – Seattle, WA –  The Vera Project
Fri Oct 23 – Boise, ID – The Watercooler
Sat Oct 24 – Salt Lake City, UT – The Loading Dock
Sun Oct 25 – Denver, CO – Moon Room
Tue Oct 27 – Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room
Wed Oct 28 – Minneapolis, MN – The Nether Bar
Thurs Oct 29 – Chicago, IL – Beat Kitchen
Fri Oct 30 – Pontiac, MI – The Pike Room at Crofoot
Sat Oct 31 – Columbus, OH – Double Happiness
Mon Nov 2 – Toronto, ON – The Drake Hotel
Tue Nov 3 – Montreal, QC – Bar La Ritz PDB
Weds Nov 4 – Somerville, MA – Cuisine En Locale
Thurs Nov 5 – Hamden, CT – The Space
Fri Nov 6 – Philadelphia, PA – Voltage Lounge
Sun Nov 8 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge
Mon Nov 9 – Washington, DC – Black Cat Backstage
Tues Nov 10 – Chapel Hill, NC – Local 506
Thurs Nov 12 – Atlanta, GA – The Masquerade – Purgatory
Fri Nov 13 – Jacksonville, FL – Burro Bar
Sat Nov 14 – Tampa, FL – Epic Problem
Mon Nov 16 – Houston, TX – The Studio at Warehouse Live
Tues Nov 17 – San Antonio, TX – Korova Basement
Thurs Nov 19 – Lubbock, TX – Jake’s Backroom
Sat Nov 21 – Phoenix, AZ – The Rebel Lounge
Sun Nov 22 – San Diego, CA – The Casbah
Tues Nov 24 – Los Angeles, CA – The Echo

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Chris graduated from The College Of New Jersey in May of 2011 with a Bachelors Degree in both Journalism/Professional Writing and Communication Studies. He's held down a position in the Asbury Park Press’ Sports Department since September of 2010 and is a contributor to the outlet’s Arts & Entertainment section as well as Consequence of Sound (http://consequenceofsound.net).

Leave A Response