Speak Into My Good Eye

Watch: Rozwell Kid Find Their Vision In “Magic Eye”

Ryan McGrath May 6, 2016 Music Videos, News No Comments

Rozwell Kid

Photo Credit: Cassie Lopez

This week, West Virginia rockers, Rozwell Kid released a surreal and eye appealing video to back up the single, “Magic Eye,” from their 2015 EP, Good Graphics. Championing a quirky, and anathematic alt-rock delivery that hones nostalgic parallels to everyone’s two favorite Weezer albums, The Blue Album and Pinkerton — this strange visual narrative to “Magic Eye” brings us back to a simpler time when weird music videos were praised and highly accepted during the glory days of MTV.


(“Magic Eye” – directed by Samuel Gursky)

Opening with a blistering bassline and grungy instrumentals, we are introduced to the video’s tag-team of protagonists — both paired with freakishly enlarged, bloodshot eyes for heads waking from a weary slumber. Jumping out of bed with a jolt of enthusiasm, both eyes arise with a mean look of determination, and one thing on their mind: to get their sight back.

As the two eyes aimlessly strain themselves in the middle of a cross-city adventure filled with confusion, wonder and intrigue, they eventually come across an obnoxiously large pair of glasses buried in a grassy field by a waterside city park. Within the moment that these two protagonists sit down on a nearby bench, and finally put on their coveted pair of glasses — our hearts are filled with sensations of utter joy and pure satisfaction knowing they’ve found what they were looking for in the end. To compliment the bright conclusion of this video, the two eyes enjoy their clear sight with a beautiful park view of a sunset by the city’s waterside.

I can’t help, but get a good laugh while watching “Magic Eye” — especially when I look back on the number of times that I’ve stumbled out of bed, just to turn off my alarm clock while tripping over multiple inanimate objects in the dark. For the red eyes and to all of the sleepyheads out there restlessly trying to find your footing in the morning, EYE would like to send this video out to you.

Rozwell Kid is currently shredding their way through Europe and the U.K. alongside The Hotelier and Into It. Over It. before they embark on a full U.S. tour in June with SideOneDummy labelmates, Pup. The band will also be opening in support for Motion City Soundtrack’s farewell tour starting late July. Don’t miss out on seeing Rozwell Kid when they make their return to the tri-state area this summer. Check out the dates below.

Tuesday May 31 – Cleveland, OH – Mahalls
Wednesday June 1 – Detroit, MI – Pike Room %
Thursday June 2 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean %
Friday June 3 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th St Entry %
Sunday June 5 – Missoula, MT – Camp Daze
Monday June 6 – Seattle, WA – Vera Project %
Tuesday June 7 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge %
Thursday June 9 – San Francisco, CA – Rickshaw Stop %
Friday June 10 – Los Angeles, CA – The Echo %
Saturday June 11 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar %
Sunday June 12 – Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge %
Tuesday June 14 – Austin, TX – The Sidewinder %
Wednesday June 15 – Dallas, TX – Three Links %
Friday June 17 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade %
Saturday June 18 – Nashville, TN – The High Watt %
Monday June 20 – Richmond, VA – Gallery
Tuesday June 21 – Washington, DC – DC9 %
Wednesday June 22 – Philadelphia, PA – PhilaMoca %
Thursday June 23 – Allston, MA – Great Scott %
Friday June 24 – Willimantic, CT – The Eclectic
Saturday June 25 – Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall Of Williamsburg %
Thursday July 28 – Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre $
Friday July 29 – Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall $
Saturday July 30 – Grand Rapids, MI – The Intersection $
Monday August 1 – Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom $
Tuesday August 2 – Clifton Park, NY – Upstate Concert Hall $
Thursday August 4 – Baltimore, MD – Rams Head Live $
Friday August 5 – Stroudsburg, PA – Sherman Theater $
Sunday August 7 – Richmond, VA – The National $
Tuesday August 9 – Nashville, TN – Cannery Ballroom $
Wednesday August 10 – Charlotte, NC – Fillmore $
Friday August 12 – Fort Lauderdale, FL – Culture Room $
Saturday August 13 – Orlando, FL – House Of Blues $

% = with PUP
$ = with Motion City Soundtrack

Physical copies of Rozwell Kid’s 2015 EP, Good Graphics are available now on SideOneDummy Records.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Ryan McGrath is a graduate of Ramapo College of New Jersey, where he received Bachelor of Arts Degree in Communication Arts — with a concentration in Journalism. He is a frequent contributor for The Aquarian Weekly, and has also written for More Than Sound Collective and Circles & Soundwaves. Ryan is also a former Music Publicity Intern at Effective Immediately PR. Follow him at @heeeeeyimryan.

Leave A Response